Title design

I decided to try and design our title for the animated short. I think my knowledge on typography will come in handy, but I don’t really know much about film title design, so I started to look up a few names and techniques.

The first person I came across was Dan Perri. He designed titles for many big companies like MGM Studios, Paramount Pictures, 20th Century Fox and a lot more, and worked on movies like Star Wars, The Exorcist and Nightmare on Elm Street.

After looking through his website, I found this video as well where he talkes about title design:

In the video he mentioned Saul Bass as his mentor, so he was my second stop. I know it’s off topic, but I really love his poster for The Magnificent Seven (1960).

1960, dir. John Sturges

He designed the titles fot films like Psycho (1960), Spartacus (1960) and West Side Story (1961).

“Film titles are, indeed, the primary impression an audience will have a film.” writes Rebecca Gross in her article on film titles. After a brief look through the history just for fun I started focusing on the modern designs.

Of course we won’t have time for a full title sequence which is usually more than 30 seconds, but it’s good to have a general image on the subject before I start sketching.

 

References:

Leave a Reply

